Vehicle Title Services

Selling?

You have 20 (business) days to get the title to your vehicle in the buyer’s name.
Or, 45 (calendar) days if you are financing the sale.

What to do?

Stop by a Texas Tag & Title location with the buyer and file a vehicle title application.

If you miss those deadlines, you could be held responsible for the buyer’s driving (and other) activities in the vehicle you sold. Some of these undesirable outcomes include: tickets, toll violations, seizure, and potential crime commission issues.

Fine print:

If you sell (trade-in) your vehicle to a dealership, they technically do not have to change ownership until they sell it. Protect yourself by filing a Vehicle Transfer Notification.

Vehicle Transfer Notification


You have 30 days to file with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV). Get Form

Buying?

For the best outcome, the Buyer and Seller do a title application together so that both are legally protected. We will do a title search and inform you if the title being signed over to you is correct; we also check for any legal or salvage issues.



Things to remember:

If you purchase your car from a dealership, title services are included as well as your vehicle registration receipt.
You have 20 working days to complete your title application.
Or 45 calendar days if the dealership will be financing your vehicle.
Or you could be fined.

What you need to have:

  • Proof of liability insurance
  • NEW! The great state of Texas now wants the color of your vehicle included in your title application.

Fees

6.25 percent of the purchase price (or the standard presumptive value, whichever is higher) is the motor vehicle sales tax rate.
A vehicle’s standard presumptive value (SPV) is its calculated worth based on similar sales in Texas.


Remember,
Questions? Contact us and a member of our happy service staff can help.